[Skip to Content]

PROM/SE: Promoting Rigorous Outcomes in Mathematics and Science Education

PROM/SE Overview: Partners

Partner Spotlight: Phase II


Calhoun ISD (Michigan)
Calhoun Intermediate School District’s mission is to develop, coordinate and provide quality educational services and experiences for its constituencies in an innovative and responsive manner that will enable people to function effectively in an ever-changing world. Recently, the district launched a three-year mathematics improvement project and is a three-year partner with a science leadership project. Calhoun ISD’s participating districts serve more than 15,000 students, most of which are from rural areas. Eighteen percent of Calhoun’s students are eligible for free or reduced price lunch.

PROMSE member districts include:
• Albion Public Schools
• Athens Area Schools
• Bellevue Community School
• Harper Creek Community Schools
• Homer Community Schools
• Lakeview School District
• Mar Lee School District
• Marshall Public Schools
• Olivet Community Schools
• Pennfield School District
• Tekonsha  Community Schools
• Union City Community Schools


Ingham ISD (Michigan)
Ingham ISD has a long-standing relationship with MSU, serving as a major site for pre-service teacher preparation and internships .The district is also involved with several ongoing collaborations for professional development, including a summer institute for science and math teachers. Ingham Intermediate School District’s participating school districts serve about 50,000 students, of which 21% are eligible for free or reduced price lunch. Ingham ISD offers many programs to promote collaboration between its school districts in order to offer an enriched and engaging educational experience for all students 

PROMSE member districts include:
• East Lansing School District
• Haslett Public Schools
• Holt Public Schools
• Lansing Public Schools
• Leslie Public Schools
• Waverly Community School
• Webberville Community School
• Williamston Community School

SMART Consortium (Greater Cleveland, Ohio area)
SMART, Science and Mathematics Achievement Required for Tomorrow, was established in 1998 as a response to the issues raised by TIMSS. The partnership works to develop a network of community participants with resources, a wide range of expertise, and the commitment to increase student learning and understanding through the implementation of innovative learning strategies. Not only does SMART work to prepare its students to succeed in rigorous a science and mathematics curriculum, it also prepares students to become responsible citizens. Located in the Cleveland area, SMART serves school districts in five counties in northeastern Ohio, including urban, suburban and rural school districts. More than 46% of its 200,000 students are eligible for free or reduced price lunch.

PROMSE member districts include:
• Amherst School District
• Bay Village City School District
• Beachwood City  School District
• Bedford City School District
• Berea City School District
• Brecksville - Broadview Heights School District
• Cleveland Heights - University Heights City School District
• Cleveland Municipal School District
• East Cleveland City School District
• Euclid City School District
• Mentor Exempted Village School District
• Newbury Local School District
• Oberlin School District
• Olmsted Falls City School District
• Orange City School District
• Painesville City Local School District
• Parma City School District
• Richmond Heights Local School District
• Sheffield-Sheffield Lake City Schools
• South Euclid-Lyndhurst City School District
• West Geauga Local School District

PROM/SE Phase I partners also included:

High AIMS Consortium (Greater Cincinnati, OH)
In response to TIMSS, High Achievement in Mathematics and Science (High AIMS) formed in 1998 to improve mathematics and science education in the greater Cincinnati area. The consortium’s goal is to promote high student achievement by forming an influential educational consortium of educators, parents, community, research, business, and industry leaders striving to attain world-class standards in mathematics and science curricula, instructional strategies, and assessment practices. Ten school districts from High AIMS participated in Phase I of PROM/SE, including the large urban district of Cincinnati, serving about 100,000 students, of which 34% are eligible for free or reduced price lunch

PROMSE member districts included:
• Cincinnati City School District
• Deer Park Community City
• Fairfield City School District
• Forest Hills Local School District
• Kings Local School District
• Lakota Local School District
• Loveland City  School District
• Madeira City School District
• Mason City School District
• Princeton City School District

St. Clair County RESA (Michigan)
St. Clair RESA strives to enhance learning for its students by providing a variety of programs designed to enrich the total education process for all students. St. Clair RESA has a long-standing relationship with MSU to evaluate and improve the quality of the curriculum and teaching for all students. Seven school districts from St. Clair County RESA participated in Phase I of PROM/SE. These districts serve more than 30,000 students, of which more than 18% are eligible for free or reduced price lunch. The region includes small towns and rural farming areas, as well as the medium-sized city of Port Huron.

PROMSE member districts included:                       
• Algonac Community School District
• Capac Community School District
• East China School District
• Marysville Public Schools
• Memphis Community Schools
• Port Huron Area School District
• Yale Public Schools

www.promse.msu.edu. PROM/SE is funded by the National Science Foundation under Cooperative Agreement No. EHR-0314866.